Katja Schwarz

Katja Schwarz, born 1966 in Munich als Katja Grobholz, after a year abroad in Great Britain and Italy studied Slavonic and English studies and philosophy. She spent six months in Russia and was able to gain first film experiences while making her own documentary film. She also worked as gallery manager at Kunstpavillon in Munich and continues to work parttime in this aera again today, now for an architect.

After graduating from Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich she worked as production assistant at megaherz tv GmbH until she joined Odeon Film AG in 1996. There she headed the press and PR department of the whole Odeon Film Group and served as online and IR manager. 2010 she took on the additional remit as sustainability advisor, to insure corporate social and environmental responsibility in film and TV production. This activity then was a novelty in film production and gained importance over the years, likely to become a standard.

Since 2013 she extended the Tolle Idee! network's offer and expertise in the new field of "Green Filmmaking", i.e. consulting, teaching and writing for production companies, institutions, festivals and filmmakers to promote the concept of sustainability in media production.

Among other events, she took part in the following activities:

  • workshops of the „Green Pictures Group NRW", organised by Energieagentur.NRW und Thema1 for the first time in 2014
  • workshop „Green Shooting for Documentaries" at NaturVision Filmfestival Ludwigsburg
  • articles on sustainability in filmmaking at Odeon Film Group, e.g.. „Filmemachen in Grün" (Green Filmmaking) in the journal of Film- und Medienstiftung NRW
  • „Mean But Green": viral clips on climate change and sustainability at ifs - internationale filmschule köln

She also works as translator from Russian, English and as web designer.

Katja Schwarz

Katja Schwarz, 1966 geboren als Katja Grobholz in München, studierte nach einem Auslandsjahr in England und Italien an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München Slawische Philologie, Anglistik und Philosophie. Studienbegleitend verbrachte sie ein halbes Jahr in Russland und sammelte erste Filmerfahrung bei der Realisierung eines Dokumentarfilms. Während des Studiums arbeitete sie im Kunstpavillon, München, und ist auch heute wieder in Teilzeit in der Galerie- und Ausstellungsbranche für einen Architekten tätig.

Nach dem Magisterabschluss war sie Produktionsassistentin bei der megaherz tv GmbH, bevor sie 1996 zur heutigen Odeon Film AG wechselte. Dort leitete sie zuletzt die Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Odeon-Film-Gruppe. Darüber hinaus war sie Online- und IR-Chefredakteurin. Als Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragte kümmerte sie sich dort zudem um die Entwicklung einer Unternehmenskultur, die wirtschaftliche, soziale und umweltfreundliche Aspekte gleichwertig beachtet. Sie begann 2010 damit, diesen Bereich aufzubauen - damals ein Novum in der deutschen Filmbranche, heute erfreulicherweise ein viel beachtetes Thema.

Seit 2013 ergänzt Katja Schwarz das Angebot von Tolle Idee! um den Aspekt Nachhaltigkeit in der Bewegtbild-Entwicklung und Produktion. Sie berät Institutionen, Festivals und Filmemacher und vernetzt sich mit ihren Vorträgen und Workshops mit der Branche.

Beispiele, an denen sie beteiligt ist oder mitgewirkt hat:

  • Workshops der „Green Pictures Group NRW", die die Energieagentur.NRW und Thema1 2014 erstmalig veranstaltet haben
  • Workshop „Green Shooting for Documentaries" beim NaturVision Filmfestival Ludwigsburg
  • Nachhaltigkeit in der Odeon-Film-Gruppe, z.B. „Filmemachen in Grün" im Magazin der Film- und Medienstiftung NRW
  • „Mean But Green": Virale Clips zu Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit der ifs - internationale filmschule köln

Zusätzlich arbeitet sie als Übersetzerin aus dem Russischen, Englischen und als Web-Designerin.